Select this search icon to access the amnesty.ca search form

Main menu

Facebook Share

Write for Rights events across the country

Posted in: Write for Rights
    Thursday, November 30, 2017 - 14:28

     

    FIND AN EVENT NEAR YOU!

    Hundreds of Write for Rights events are being organized in communities across Canada on or around December 10th, International Human Rights Day, 2017.

    See the map of all public events on the Write for Rights webpage, or check out some of the major events below. You can also still sign up to host your own with family and friends!

    NEW BRUNSWICK

    City Location Date Time Organizer
    Hampton Lutz Longstaff Parish Law Offices

    4 Centennial Road
    9 Dec 10am-3pm Pat Hanratty

    pnphanratty@hotmail.com

    NEWFOUNDLAND

    City Location Date Time Organizer
    St. John's Jumping Bean Coffee Shop

    37 Elizabeth Avenue
    10 Dec 1pm-5pm St. John’s Amnesty Action Circle

    aisj126@gmail.com

    NOVA SCOTIA

    City Location Date Time Organizer
    Darthmouth South End Baptist Church

    60 Hastings Drive
    10 Dec 1pm-2pm Michael Vlahos

    mvlahos@gmail.com
    Halifax Smiling Goat Cafe (formerly Just Us Cafe)

    5896 Spring Garden Rd
    10 Dec 10:30am-1:30pm Ashley Duguay

    ash.duguay@hotmail.com
    Halifax Cathedral Church of All Saints

    1330 Cathedral Lane (formerly Martello and Tower Rd.)
    11 Dec 10am-12:30pm Elissa Barnard

    elissa.barnard@gmail.com
    Pugwash United Church Manse

    Church Street
    8 Dec 10am-12pm Vivian Godfree

    vandjgodfree@gmail.com

    Quebec

    City Location Date Time Organizer
    Hemmingford Café Hemmingford

    475 Frontier St
    10 Dec 1pm-5pm Hemmingford Action Committee

    catherinestratford80@gmail.com
    Montreal Unitarian Church of Montréal

    5035, Boul. de Maisonneuve Ouest
    10 Dec 12pm-1pm Cym Gomery

    jeanromberry@gmail.com

    ONTARIO

    City Location Date Time Organizer
    Almonte Almonte United Church Hall

    Elgin Street
    09-Dec 2pm-6pm Margaret Shugg

    margaret.shugg@gmail.com
    Aurora Trinity Anglican Church 2-Dec 2pm-4pm Renee LeBlanc

    reneeandlen@rogers.com
    Barrie Barrie City Hall

    Mulcaster Road
    8 Dec 11am-1pm Doreen Fernandes

    dtef1@yahoo.com
    Belleville Bridge Street United Church

    60 Bridge St. E
    10 Dec 1pm-4:30pm Connie Gallupe

    cgallupe@gmail.com
    Capreol Trinity United Church

    72 Young St
    9-Dec 12pm-5pm Faye Moffatt

    1fmoffatt@sympatico.ca
    Cobourg St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church

    200 King Street West
    3-Dec 11:30am-12pm Alasdair Gillespie

    ajg@distributel.net
    Cobourg Trinity United Church

    284 Division Street
    10-Dec 10:30am-12pm Alasdair Gillespie

    ajg@distributel.net
    Georgetown St John's United Church

    11 Guelph Street
    10-Dec 11am-12pam Janet Duval

    jduval@cogeco.ca
    Hamilton St. Paul's Anglican Church

    1140 King st. W.
    10-Dec 11:30am-1:30pm Louise Briggs

    briggslou@hotmail.com
    Iroquois Falls Trinity United Church basement

    Devonshire Street
    10-Dec 2pm-4pm Frances Anne Cote

    rfke@ntl.sympatico.ca
    Kenora Knox United Church

    2nd St. S.
    7-Dec 4pm-7:30pm Jan Richardson

    richardson_jan@hotmail.com
    Orillia St. Paul's United Church

    62 Peter St. N
    11 Dec 11am-2pm Mary Maltby

    gmwmaltby@hotmail.com
    Mississauga Erin Mills United Church

    2010 The Collegeway
    10-Dec 11:30am-1pm Deborah Sturgeon

    sturgs4@rogers.com
    North Bay St Andrew's United Church

    399 Cassells St
    10-Dec 12pm-3:30pm Joyce MacQueen

    wmacqueen@cogeco.ca
    Napanee Lennox & Addington County Public Library

    25 River Road
    9 Dec 10:00am-4pm Cathy Palmer

    canelpalmer@gmail.com
    Niagara-on-the-Lake Niagara on the Lake Community Centre in Board Room

    Anderson Lane
    9 Dec 9am-12pm Pamela Wilson

    pamelawilson204@gmail.com
    Oshawa Coffee Culture Oshawa

    22 King St W
    11-Dec 7:30pm-9pm Polo Lonergan

    polo.lonergan@gmail.com
    Oakville Church of the Incarnation

    2300 Brays Lane
    10-Dec 11am-11:30am Susan Curran

    cursusan@gmail.com
    Ottawa Southminster United Church

    15 Aylmer Avenue
    10-Dec 2pm-5pm Penelope Feather

    fr974@ncf.ca
    Ottawa Amnesty House

    312 Laurier Ave East
    10 Dec 2pm-6pm Manon Turcotte

    mannybanany@rogers.com
    Ottawa Riverside United Church 9 Dec 9am-12pm Norm McLeod

    pn.mcleod@sympatico.ca
    Peterborough Emmanuel United Church

    534 George Street
    10-Dec 11am-3pm Lyn Miller

    jamsbury@nexicom.net
    Port Hope Port Hope United Church

    34 South Street
    10-Dec 11:30am-12:30pm Bruce Williamson

    bwilliamsonnhb.com@gmail.com
    Port Hope Furby Book Store

    6221 Campbell Rd.
    9-Dec 11am-3pm Bruce Williamson

    bwilliamson@xplornet.ca
    Stratford Festival Square Lobby 9 Dec 10am-3pm Anne Carbert

    stratfordamnesty@rogers.com
    Timmins Timmins Public Library (Study room)

    320 Second Avenue
    9-Dec 1pm-4pm Louise Armstrong

    l_armstrong@persona.ca
    Thunder Bay Lakehead Unitarian Fellowship

    129 Algoma St. S.
    10-Dec 1pm-3pm Teresa Parr

    whether@tbaytel.net
    Toronto Bloor Street United Church

    300 Bloor Street West
    7-Dec 6:30pm-8:30pm Marilyn McKim

    marilynjmckim@gmail.com
    Toronto Guildwood Community Presbyterian Church

    140 Guildwood Pkwy
    11 Dec 12pm-1pm Bonnie Horton

    bonhor@rogers.com
    Toronto Centre for Social Innovation Annex 9-Dec 1pm-7pm Marilyn McKim

    mmckim@amnesty.ca
    Toronto St. James Cathedral

    65 Church St
    10-Dec 10am-2pm Carol Burnham Cook

    carolburnham_cook@hotmail.com
    Toronto Thorncliffe Neighbourhood Office

    1 Leaside Park Dr.
    8-Dec 1pm-3pm Siham Abosita

    sabosita@torncliff.org
    Toronto Beaches Presbyterian Church

    65 Glen Manor Drive
    10-Dec 10am-11apm Mary Rae Shantz

    mrs_504@hotmail.com
    Waterloo Seven Shores Cafe

    10 Regina Street North
    2 Dec 12pm-4pm Margaret Jackson

    maggiebanjo@sympatico.ca

    MANITOBA

    City Location Date Time Organizer
    Winnipeg Amnesty International Winnipeg Letter Writing group

    27 Dundurn Place
    05-Dec 7pm-9pm Lisa Forbes

    lisaforbes@mymts.net
    Winnipeg St. Margaret's Anglican Church

    160 Ethelbert St
    9-Dec 9am-4pm Bruce Hildebrand

    photographer.bruce@gmail.com
    Winnipeg Harrow United Church

    955 Harrow Street
    10-Dec 9:30am-12pm Rae Leaden

    rleaden@shaw.ca
    Winnipeg Augustine United Church

    444 River Ave
    11-Dec 11:30am-1pm Dorothy Orebanjo

    dorebanjo@shaw.ca

    SASKATCHEWAN

    City Location Date Time Organizer
    Regina Artful Dodger Cafe & Music Emporium

    1631 11th Avenue
    10-Dec 2m-4:30pm David Wessel

    dwessel@sasktel.net
    Saskatoon Murray Library

    Campus Drive
    10-Dec 3pm-6pm Hannah Wieder

    hannahwdr97@gmail.com
    Spiritwood Spiritwood Public Library

    200 Main Street
    8-Dec 9:30am-4:30pm Kay Willson

    kdwillson@xplornet.com
    Saskatoon Augustana Lutheran Church Basement

    1201 Broadway Avenue
    10-Dec 2pm-4pm Bill Rafoss

    brafoss@amnesty.ca

    NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

    City Location Date Time Organizer
    Yellowknife Javorama

    5201 50 Ave #101
    9-Dec 10am-2pm Joyce Gilchrist

    joyceg@theedge.ca

    ALBERTA

    City Location Date Time Organizer
    Calgary Home

    #102, 1924 33 rd st SW
    10 Dec 1:30pm-5:30pm Che burnett

    bucklakeche@gmail.com
    Calgary Rosso National Music Centre

    850 4th Street SE
    10 Dec 10am-4pm Shelby Dewhirst

    calgary.activism@amnesty.ca
    Edmonton Westwood Unitarian Congregation

    11135-65 Ave
    3-Dec 11:30am-12:30pm Carolyn AzizFew

    cazizfew@yahoo.ca
    Edmonton Mill Creek Cafe

    9562 82 Ave NW
    10-Dec 11:00am-4:00pm Jonn Kmech

    jonn.kmech@gmail.com
    Lacombe St. Andrews United Church

    5226-51 ave
    10 Dec 1pm-5pm Winnie Chesney Settle

    family@thesettles.ca
    Rimbey Rimbey Community Centre, Kindergarten Room

    50th Ave
    2-Dec 10am-2:30pm Annette Boorman

    boorman@yelus.net

    BRITISH COLUMBIA

    City Location Date Time Organizer
    Campbell River Campbell River Public Library

    1240 Shoppers Row
    10-Dec 12:30pm-4pm Kathleen Cullen

    gumbootgrl@gmail.com
    Courtenay Courtenay Library

    300 6th Street
    11 Dec 2pm-4pm Monika Terfloth

    monika.terfloth@gmail.com
    Esquimalt Esquimalt United Church

    500 Admirals Rd
    10 Dec 12pm-2pm Jennifer Jemi Jones

    jemi_jones@hotmail.ca
    Gabriola Island The Hive

    575 North Road
    10 Dec 10am-3pm Deborah Ferens

    debferens@shaw.ca
    Kelowna First United Church hall, Room 14

    721 Bernard Avenue(enter by parking lot at rear)
    10 Dec 2pm-5pm Peter Kerr

    pkerr@uniserve.com
    Kelowna St. Andrew's Anglican Church

    4619 Lakeshore Rd
    9 Dec 9am-12pm Anne Privett

    rector@standrewskelowna.ca
    Nelson Nelson Library

    602 Stanley St
    9 Dec 10am-3pm Judith Fearing

    judith.fearing@gmail.com
    Nelson Oso Negro Cafe

    604 Ward Street
    10 Dec 10am-3pm Rosalie Metcalfe

    rosaliemetcalfe@gmail.com
    Prince George Art Space (above Books & Company)

    1685 3rd Ave
    10-Dec 3pm-5pm Kelly Mould

    amnestyinternationalpg@gmail.com
    Sidney Vancouver Island Public Library/ Sidney/BC

    10091 Resthaven Drive
    10 Dec Contact organizer for details Mary Leslie

    meleslie1@shaw.ca
    Smithers Northwest Community College, Smithers Campus

    3966 Second Avenue
    10 Dec 9am-4pm Beth Richardson

    beth.richardson@northernhealth.ca
    Sparwood Sparwood Public Library

    110 Pine Avenue
    10 Dec 1pm-4pm Glenda Newsted

    gnewsted@gmail.com
    Vernon Vernon Public Library

    2800 30th Avenue
    10-Dec 12pm-4pm Tosha Malette

    toshamallette@gmail.com
    Victoria Christ Church Cathedral

    930 Burdett Street
    8-Dec 10am-12pm Susan MacRea

    macapplecross@gmail.com
    Victoria St.Dunstan's Anglican Church

    1806 San Juan Ave
    10 Dec 11:30am-4:30pm Derek Valenciano

    dv604@hotmail.com
    Victoria Hillside Coffee and Tea

    1633 Hillside Ave
    10 Dec 2pm-6pm Jill Leslie

    gill.leslie@gmail.com
    Vancouver Strathcona Branch, Vancouver Library

    730 East Hastings Street
    9 Dec 1pm-4pm Valerie Patrick

    aieastvancouver@gmail.com
    Vancouver #8-3223 Findlay Street 10 Dec 12pm-4pm Jason Motz

    jason.motz@gmail.com
    Vancouver Joe's Cafe

    1150 Commercial Drive
    9 Dec 10am-12pm Valerie Patrick

    aieastvancouver@gmail.com
    Vancouver Devil's Elbow

    562 Beaty Street>
    10 Dec 12:30pm-4:30pm Andrea Oakunsheyld

    aoakunsheyld@gmail.com
    White Rock White Rock Library

    15342 Buena Vista Ave
    9 Dec 11am-5pm Mariann Northeast

    manortheast@hotmail.com

     

    Amnesty Members across the country gather for pop up art installations



     

    Helpful Write for Rights resources:

    rights