Select this search icon to access the amnesty.ca search form

Main menu

Facebook Share

May is Mining Justice Month – Join our Webinar

Posted in: Canada
    Friday, April 17, 2020 - 13:00

    The Month of Action for Mining Justice is an opportunity to deepen your understanding of mining justice and to take action in solidarity with mining-affected communities.  

    Although we derive many benefits from mining, it is absolutely crucial that the mining industry adhere to international human rights standards. Too often, we hear of human rights abuses related to mining, including: forced labour; child labour; people threatened, harmed, raped or killed for opposing mining projects; unsafe working conditions; toxic contamination of water; people forcibly evicted from their homes; a lack of respect for Indigenous rights; and more.

    On May 14th  join us for a mining justice webinar and hear directly from people whose lives have been negatively impacted by Canadian-owned mines in Asia, Africa and South America and who are fighting for justice.

    During the webinar, we will also launch a parliamentary e-petition. By signing the petition and sharing it with your contacts you can help us convince the Canadian government to hold Canadian companies accountable for human rights abuses overseas.

    <Sign up here for the webinar>

    Thursday, May 14th, (8:30pm Atlantic; 7:30pm Eastern; 6:30pm Central; 5:30pm Mountain; 4:30pm Pacific).

    We look forward to seeing you there!

    *The webinar and e-petition are initiatives of the Canadian Network on Corporate Accountability and its 38 member organizations, including Amnesty International.

    What else can you do?

    Book a virtual meeting with your MP to seek their support for the two petition asks (to continue through September 2020).