Select this search icon to access the search form

Main menu

Facebook Share

Media Awards

    The Amnesty Canada Media Awards: honouring journalists for outstanding human rights reporting

    2017 Amnesty Media Award Winners
    Media Awards 2017 at Gardiner Museum, Toronto

    Amnesty International Canada invites journalists to make submissions for its 24th annual Media Awards. These awards honour the efforts of journalists to increase Canadians' awareness and understanding of human rights issues. AI’s vision is of a world in which every person enjoys all of the human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international human rights standards.

    In pursuit of this vision, AI’s mission is to conduct research and to take action to prevent and end grave abuses of all human rights – civil, political, social, cultural and economic.  From freedom of expression and association to physical and mental integrity, from protection from discrimination to the right to housing- these rights are indivisible. 

    1 OCTOBER 2017 AND 30 SEPTEMBER 2018. 

    New Categories for 2018

    With the changing media landscape, Amnesty International has decided to expand certain media award areas and change the formats.  The categories are as follows :

    • television broadcasts, documentaries and online videos
    • radio, online audio and podcasts
    • Print – paper, online and magazines, both national and regional
    • Long form over 2,000 words
    • Short form up to 2,000 words
    • Multimedia (which combines at least two of video, audio or print and could combine all of them)

    You just need to fill  in the electronic form and answer all the required questions. Please  ensure you have URLs for your  media work. Then press ‘submit’.


    The 2018 Amnesty International-Canada Media Awards will be announced in December, 2018.  A reception to honour the winners will be held in Toronto April 4, 2019.

    Click here for the Media Award submission form. 


    2018 Award Winners

    National Print Award - Long Form 

    Stephanie Noel, "Colombia's peace deal brings a new season of fear", The Globe and Mail, June 17, 2018

    Stephanie Nolen is the Latin America correspondent for The Globe and Mail, based in Mexico City. She has reported from more than 80 countries around the world and served as bureau chief for The Globe in Brazil, India and South Africa. Nolen focuses her reporting on issues of inequality and social inclusion and is honoured to be a six-time winner of the Amnesty International Media Award. She is the author of 28: Stories of AIDS in Africa and Promised the Moon: The Untold Story of the First Women in the Space Race.

    National Print Award - Short Form 

    Nathan Vanderklippe, "It is about Xi as the leader of the world’: Former detainees recount abuse in Chinese re-education centres", The Globe and Mail, July 3, 2018

    Nathan Vanderklippe is the Asia bureau chief for The Globe and
    Mail. Based in Beijing, he reports on news and current affairs in China and the region. He has reported on political developments, natural disasters, humanitarian crises, social changes, human rights issues and, occasionally, a hockey game or two. Vanderklippe has also worked for The Globe and Mail in Calgary with a focus on the energy industry, for The Financial Post as a business journalist in Vancouver and for Canwest Global News as a reporter covering Canada’s northern territories.


    Audio Award 

    Ryan Hicks, "Nothing to lose: root causes of migrations from Central America", The World This Weekend/ L’heure du monde, CBC Radio/Radio Canada CBC

    Ryan Hicks is a former Quebec political correspondent for CBC News who has worked across the country for television, radio and online. He is currently a second-year law student at McGill University in Montreal, where his interests lie in anti-corruption, global investigations, and arbitration. Last year, Hicks earned a McBurney Latin America Fellowship.


    View list of past winners of the Amnesty International Media Awards

    Media Award Winners