Select this search icon to access the search form

Main menu

Kwe: Standing With Our Sisters

    More than 50 Canadian artists speak out against violence against Indigenous women
    Order “Kwe” and support Amnesty’s No More Stolen Sisters campaign

    Kwe: Standing With Our Sisters is a 100-page anthology edited by Joseph  Boyden, featuring new writing and original artwork from more than fifty contributors, including Sherman Alexie, Margaret Atwood, Gord Downie, Julie Flett, Tom King, Lee Maracle, Yann Martel, Michael Ondaatje, John Ralston Saul and Tanya Tagaq Gillis.  Kwe was conceived by Boyden as a way to raise awareness of the crisis facing Indigenous women in Canada.

    The idea for this book was born in November, from feelings of deep frustration, anger, and sorrow in the wake of yet another violent assault upon a First Nations woman,” says Boyden.  “This is a call for action. We’re part of a rising chorus in this nation that demands that the federal government respond in a real way. I hope this collection draws much needed attention to the crisis.”

    Amnesty International is honoured that Boyden has chosen to donate the proceeds to support Amnesty International’s work on this issue. Both Penguin and Chapters/Indigo will give the full sale price of $2.99 for each ebook to Amnesty International’s No More Stolen Sisters campaign.

    << You can purchase it here

    For more information about Amnesty International’s work on this issue, please visit:



    More than 50 Canadian artists speak out against violence against Indigenous women"

    Alice Kuippers
    Andrew Davidson
    Andrew Pyper
    Betsy Warland
    Bill Gaston
    Charles Foran
    Colin McAdam
    David Chariandy
    David O'Meara
    Diana Davidson
    Dionne Brand
    Drew Hayden Taylor
    Eliza Robertson
    Eve Joseph
    Garry Gottfriedson
    Garry Thomas Morse
    Gord Downie
    Joanne Arnott
    John Ralston Saul
    John Vaillant
    Joseph Boyden
    Katherena Vermette
    Kyo Maclear
    Lee Mracle
    Lisa Moore
    Lola Tostevin
    Lorna Crozier
    Madeleine Thien
    Margaret Atwood
    Marilyn Bowering
    Mary Swan
    Melissa Auf der Maur
    Michael Crummy
    Michael Ondaatje
    Michael Winter
    Patricia Young
    Patrick Friesen
    Patrick Lane
    Priscila Uppal
    Rawi Hage
    Reneltta Arluk
    Richard Van Camp
    Sarah de Leeuw
    Sherman Alexie
    Stan Dragland
    Stephen Heighton
    Susan Musgrave
    Taiaiake Alfred
    Tanya Tagaq Gillis
    Thomas King
    Wanda John-Kehewin
    Warren Cariou
    Yann Martel


    AddToAny buttons: 
    Facebook Share